Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences award winners.

The awards event was hosted by comedian and actor Dave Foley, best
known as the star of the long-running NBC comedy series, News Radio.
Among the awards presenters will be extreme sports personality Tony
Hawk; multi-sensory performance troupe Blue Man Group; actor Xander
Berkeley, currently starring in the hit Fox TV series 24; actress Julie
Benz of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Roswell and Angel fame; actress
Kelly Hu, star of the upcoming X2, the sequel to the blockbuster film X-
Men; and Mike Metzger, the undisputed pioneer of freestyle motocross.
The show also featured a special musical performance by the recording
act, Unwritten Law. A one-hour special will air in March on G4TV.


Console Game of the Year – Splinter Cell

Handheld Game of the Year – Metroid Fusion

First-Person Action Game of the Year – Metroid Prime

Role-Playing Game of the Year – Animal Crossing

Sports Game of the Year – Madden NFL 2003

Racing Game of the Year – Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit 2

Family Title of the Year – Mario Party 4

Innovation in Console Gaming – Animal Crossing

Outstanding Achievement in Character and Story – Eternal Darkness

Outstanding Achievement in Game Design – Animal Crossing

Outstanding Achievement in Gameplay Engineering – Splinter Cell

Outstanding Achievement in Visual Engineering – The Lord of the Rings:
The Two Towers

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Composition – Medal of Honor:

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design: Medal of Honor: Frontline