IGF 2013 finalists announced: Hotline Miami, FTL, Little Inferno, and more

The Independent Games Festival is fast approaching, and the finalists for this year's show have been selected. There are a number of incredible games up for awards, as well as a few that may not have made it all the way in specific categories and instead got honorable mentions.

Awards categories range from best art and audio to excellence in narrative and design. Of course, these are just a few of the categories. Here's the full list of finalists for this year's IGF:

Excellence In Visual Art

Incredipede (Northway Games and Thomas Shahan)

Kentucky Route Zero (Cardboard Computer)

Guacalamelee! (Drinkbox Studios)

Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime (Asteroid Base)

Year Walk (Simogo)

Honorable mentions: Fly'n (Ankama Play), Eleven (Christoffer Hedborg, Datahowler), The Bridge (Ty Taylor and Mario Castaneda), Thomas Was Alone (Mike Bithell, David Housden and Danny Wallace), Hundreds (Semi Secret feat. aeiowu)

Excellence In Narrative

Thirty Flights of Loving (Blendo Games)

Cart Life (Richard Hofmeier)

Kentucky Route Zero (Cardboard Computer)

Dys4ia (Auntie Pixelante)

Gone Home (The Fullbright Company)

Honorable mentions: Goblet Grotto (thecatamites, j chastain, NEW VADERS), Analogue: A Hate Story (Christine Love), Papo & Yo (Minority Media), The Stanley Parable (Galactic Cafe), 7 Grand Steps (Mousechief)

Technical Excellence

StarForge (CodeHatch)

Perspective (DigiPen Widdershins)

Little Inferno (Tomorrow Corporation)

Intrusion 2 (Aleksey Abramenko)

LiquidSketch (Tobias Neukom)

Honorable mentions: Mobiloid (Monty Melby), Skulls Of The Shogun (17-BIT), Foldit (University of Washington), 140 (Jeppe Carlsen), Gateways (Smudged Cat Games)

Excellence In Design

Samurai Gunn (Beau Blyth)

FTL: Faster Than Light (Subset Games)

Starseed Pilgrim (Droqen & Ryan Roth)

Super Hexagon (Terry Cavanagh)

Super Space ______ (David Scamehorn & Alexander Baard/DigiPen)

Honorable mentions: Spaceteam (Henry Smith), Helix (Michael Brough), Little Inferno (Tomorrow Corporation), Rymdkapsel (Martin Jonasson, Grapefrukt Games), Hotline Miami (Dennaton Games)

Excellence In Audio

Kentucky Route Zero (Cardboard Computer)

Bad Hotel (Lucky Frame)

140 (Jeppe Carlsen)

Hotline Miami (Dennaton Games)

Pixeljunk 4AM (Q-Games)

Honorable mentions: Thomas Was Alone (Mike Bithell, David Housden and Danny Wallace), Little Inferno (Tomorrow Corporation), Gone Home (The Fullbright Company), Fract OSC (Phosfiend Systems), Dust: An Elysian Tale (Humble Hearts)

Nuovo Award (Designed "to honor abstract and unconventional game development.")

Cart Life (Richard Hofmeier)

Spaceteam (Henry Smith)

Dys4ia (Auntie Pixelante)

Bientot l'ete (Tale of Tales)

7 Grand Steps (Mousechief)

MirrorMoon (SantaRagione + BloodyMonkey)

VESPER.5 (Michael Brough)

Little Inferno (Tomorrow Corporation)

Honorable mentions: Renga (wallFour), Starseed Pilgrim (Droqen & Ryan Roth), Frog Fractions (Twinbeard), Thirty Flights of Loving (Blendo Games), The Stanley Parable (Galactic Cafe)

Seumas McNally Grand Prize

Hotline Miami (Dennaton Games)

FTL: Faster Than Light (Subset Games)

Cart Life (Richard Hofmeier)

Little Inferno (Tomorrow Corporation)

Kentucky Route Zero (Cardboard Computer)

These nominees will all be playable by those in attendance at this year's GDC in San Francisco from March 27 to March 29. The IGF 2013 awards show will be held on March 27, when all winners will be selected.


Want to talk about indie games, Kirby, or cheap pizza? Follow me on Twitter @dr_davidsanchez.