First wave of Xbox games for Windows 8 announced, set to arrive October 26

Microsoft has announced the first wave of Xbox games that will be arriving on Windows 8. The first wave, which includes 29 titles from Microsoft Studios, features "many of the games you already known and love" as well as some which are exclusive to Windows 8.

While many of these games will be available starting October 26, ongoing new releases will continue through the holiday season and beyond. The games will be playable on any Windows 8 PC, laptop, or tablet device and will be easy to find in the pre-installed Windows 8 Xbox Game app.

All Xbox games for Windows 8 will have Xbox Achievements as well as other Xbox features, including leaderboards, multiplayer modes, and connecting with friends. Below is the list of what the first wave of Xbox games will consist of:

  1. 4 Elements II Special Edition
  2. A World of Keflings
  3. Adera: Episode 1
  4. Adera: Episode 2
  5. Adera: Episode 3
  6. Angry Birds
  7. Angry Birds Space
  8. Big Buck Hunter Pro
  9. BlazBlue Calamity Trigger
  10. Collateral Damage
  11. Crash Course GO
  12. Cut the Rope
  13. Disney Fairies
  14. Dragon’s Lair
  15. Field & Stream Fishing
  16. Fruit Ninja
  17. Gravity Guy
  18. Gunstringer: Dead Man Running
  19. Hydro Thunder Hurricane
  20. IloMilo
  21. iStunt 2
  22. Jetpack Joyride
  23. Kinectimals Unleashed
  24. Microsoft Mahjong
  25. Microsoft Minesweeper
  26. Microsoft Solitaire Collection
  27. Monster Island
  28. PAC-MAN Championship Edition DX
  29. Pinball FX 2
  30. Reckless Racing Ultimate
  31. Rocket Riot 3D
  32. Shark Dash
  33. Shuffle Party
  34. Skulls of the Shogun
  35. Taptiles
  36. Team Crossword
  37. The Harvest HD
  38. Toy Soldiers Cold War
  39. Wordament
  40. Zombies!!!

Head over to PlayXLBA for more details about each game.