news\ Aug 14, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Xbox One delayed until 2014 (for certain markets)


Remember when Microsoft promised the Xbox One would be available in 21 markets around the world at launch? Looks like they won't make good on that promise, as the company confirmed today, "... we have adjusted the number of markets that will receive Xbox One in November to 13 markets."

These 13 markets that will get the Xbox One first are now the United States, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, and New Zealand.

As for the markets that will no longer receive the Xbox One at launch -- Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and Switzerland -- Microsoft says it remains "committed to launching Xbox One... as soon as possible in 2014."

"While we wish we could launch Xbox One simultaneously in these markets, there are many factors that determine the timing of specific market launches," Microsoft explained. "This includes work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country.

"We understand this will be disappointing news for our fans in the impacted countries, and we are doing everything we can to bring Xbox One to you as soon as possible next year."

To make it up to customers who have already pre-ordered the system in these affected markets, Microsoft promises a free game when the Xbox One does launch, though they didn't reveal specifics. Instead, the company recommends you follow up with the local retailer you pre-ordered from who will share more information "closer to launch."

The Xbox One is still set to release in the remaining 13 markets sometime in November, though we still don't know the specific date. With Gamescom right around the corner that could change soon.

[Xbox Wire]

About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus