Like this author?

Follow this author, get more from this author. Ta-da!

Sign up now

Hide this X

news\

Xbox 360 Dashboard Update Delayed

Yesterday, it was announced that the Xbox 360 would receive a dashboard update today, December 6th.  Originally slated to become available to everyone at 10a ET/7a PT/15:00 UTC, it looks like Xbox 360 users might have to wait a little longer for the update to become available.

Microsoft's Major Nelson informed us today that "the timing for the Xbox 360 dashboard update has been slightly delayed."

Nelson did say he'd have a status update later today.

"I won't have additional details until later today. The moment I have new information, I'll share it w/ you".

The FREE dashboard update will allow you to integrate the Xbox Kinect voice and hand gesture system to channel surfing.

Microsoft's goal is to create a single entertainment system which brings gaming, TV, music, and social media using advanced voice and motion control.

In addition to new and updated features, the new update includes a Bing search. According to Nelson, "If you have a Kinect you'll be able to say it and Xbox will find it with Bing Search."

Microsoft also announced partners and apps taht are coming soon to the Xbox 360, which can be found here.

Yesterday, it was also announced that another new app will be released for Windows Phones to grant Xbox 360 access via their smartphones.  This app is FREE and is known as the ‘Xbox Companion for Windows Phone.’  The app works through Wi-Fi to browse content catalogues, buy media, view profile and friend statuses, search for movies, TV shows, music, games.  Learn more here.

Matt-liebl-profile
Matt Liebl You can follow Senior News Editor Matt Liebl on Twitter @Matt_GZ. He likes games, sports, musicals, and his adorable dog, Wrigley. And his wife.
Share with your friends
blog comments powered by Disqus