news\

Star Wars: The Old Republic to undergo scheduled 8 hour maintenance tomorrow

Star Wars: The Old Republic  - 874295

As a reminder for everyone, BioWare will be performing planned maintenance on Star Wars: The Old Republic tomorrow, January 4th, 2012.  The scheduled maintenance is predicted to last eight hours.  Beginning from 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET), all servers will be offline until at least 10AM CST (8AM PST/11AM EST/4PM GMT/5PM CET.  While expected to take no more than eight hours, BioWare did warn that it "could be extended".

BioWare informed fans of the maintenance last week so that the downtime doesn't come as a surprise to many of the game's players.

Generally speaking we are aiming to limit our scheduled maintenance period to once a week, on Tuesdays. However, this week we will perform maintenance on Wednesday due to the New Year’s holiday. We are aiming for this weekly maintenance period to take place in an off-peak time for both North American and European players. We are also aiming to inform players of the precise duration of any weekly maintenance period at least 24 hours before the maintenance begins.

Last week, BioWare caught some major flak from players for not giving players enough notice about the downtime.  It didn't help that maintenance was extended with no ETA.  Hopefully this warning will help players adjust to the maintenance periods.  BioWare has since vowed to improve maintenance timing.

Generally this weekly maintenance is "performed in order to make general improvements and to check performance of the game so that we can continue to provide a consistent, quality experience."  Usually, there is a patch to download following the maintenance. 

Star Wars: The Old Republic patch 1.0.2 was live on Public Test Servers, giving fans the opportunity to play with some of the planned changes.  You can find the patch notes and list of changes here.

Matt-liebl-profile
Matt Liebl You can follow Senior News Editor Matt Liebl on Twitter @Matt_GZ. He likes games, sports, musicals, and his adorable dog, Wrigley. And his wife.
Share with your friends
In this article

Games: Star Wars: The Old Republic

Tags:

Related Images
Starwarsoldrefeature Starwarstor_feature2 Swtor_feature3 Swtor_feature4 Starwarstor_featurereplace See all images
blog comments powered by Disqus