news\ Sep 27, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Slipknot and Simon & Garfunkel Debut on Rock Band

December 4, 2009

Slipknot and Simon & Garfunkel Debut on Rock Band

Harmonix and MTV Games today announced that both Slipknot and Simon & Garfunkel will make their debut next week in the Rock Band Music Store of downloadable content for the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and Wii.

These artists join the more than 390 bands currently available through the Rock Band platform. With more than 1,000 songs available, Rock Band is, without question, the industry leader in providing the best selection of interactive musical content, songs and artists.

Rock Band DLC Additions for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 System and Wii

Masked American metal band Slipknot make their Rock Band debut next week with a three pack of songs that includes “Duality,” from the band’s 2004 Platinum-selling album, Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses), and “Psychosocial” and “Sulfur,” both from the band’s No. 1 2008 album, All Hope Is Gone. All Hope Is Gone also features “Snuff,” currently in the Top 10 at Active Rock and the Top 25 at Modern Rock. Slipknot has been nominated for seven Grammy Awards and won the 2006 Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance.

Legendary singer-songwriter duo Simon & Garfunkel (Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel) also make their Rock Band debut next week with two of the group’s most-loved songs – “I Am a Rock” and “The Sounds of Silence” from their 1966 album, Sounds of Silence. “The Sounds of Silence” was also prominently featured in the 1967 film, The Graduate, which helped propel Simon & Garfunkel into mainstream success. The duo released a collection of live recordings with this year’s Simon & Garfunkel, Live 1969, and has won four Grammy Awards, including the 2003 Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.

Additionally, New York-formed alternative rockers Lights Resolve offer up a free track for Rock Band with “Dreaming of Love.” Rolling Stone named Lights Resolve a Breakout Band in 2009.

Available on Xbox 360 and Wii (Dec. 8) and PlayStation 3 system (Dec. 10):

  • Slipknot – “Duality”

  • Slipknot – “Psychosocial”

  • Slipknot – “Sulfur”

  • Simon & Garfunkel – “I Am a Rock” +

  • Simon & Garfunkel – “The Sounds of Silence” +

  • Lights Resolve – “Dreaming of Love” * + (available on Xbox 360 and PS3 only)

(All tracks are original master recordings)

These tracks will be available for purchase as “Slipknot Pack 01” as well as individual tracks on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 system, and as individual tracks on Wii. Tracks marked with a “+” are also available in the family-friendly LEGO Rock Band Music Store.


  • $1.99 USD, .99 UK, ç1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) per track

  • $5.49, 2.49 UK, ç3.99 EU (440 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) for “Slipknot Pack 01”

  • $2.00 USD (200 Wii Points) per track

“*” Denotes a free track

Rock Band DLC Additions for Wii in Europe

Rock Band 2 for Wii was released Oct. 9 in Europe. Featuring more than 100 songs (The Rock Band 2 game disc features 84 tracks. In addition, players have access to an additional 20 free DLC tracks. Online connection required.), Rock Band 2 showcases an extensive music catalogue with an eclectic blend of classic and new artists. The Rock Band library for Wii in Europe is being updated regularly with back-catalog tracks. For a complete list of tracks available now, visit

** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change. **

About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus