news\ Sep 27, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Rock Band Fans Can be Modern Day Warriors with Complete Rush Album Moving Pictures

August 21, 2008

Rock Band Fans Can be Modern Day Warriors with Complete Rush Album Moving Pictures

Harmonix and MTV Games announced today the addition of the fourth complete album to the Rock Band Music Store catalog of downloadable content. Available August 26, the most commercially successful Rush album, Moving Pictures, will be added to the Rock Band DLC catalog giving prog fans the opportunity to build their own Rush setlist for play on their virtual world tour.

Moving Pictures joins the five other Rush tracks in the catalog including the recent release of the Rush Masters Vault selections which includes exclusive Rock Band versions of “Closer To The Heart” and “Working Man (Vault Edition)” and cover versions of “Tom Sawyer,” “Limelight” and “Working Man.” One of the most successful progressive rock bands in music history, the Canadian masters of the time signature change have sold more than 40 million albums worldwide and continue to sell out arenas across the globe.

Moving Pictures, Rush’s eighth studio album, released in 1981 has sold more than four million copies and includes the following tracks:

  1. Tom Sawyer
  2. Red Barchetta
  3. YYZ
  4. Limelight
  5. The Camera Eye
  6. Witch Hunt
  7. Vital Signs

Moving Pictures will be available for $10.99 (880 Microsoft Points) for the album, or $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points) per track.

Moving Pictures joins the influential Pixies album, Doolittle, Judas Priest’s Screaming For Vengeance and The Cars’ “The Cars” as the fourth full-album DLC release available at the Rock Band Music Store. With the addition of these albums there are now more than 200 tracks available to date via disc and download purchase (complete list of tracks at Rock Band continues to fly off shelves and satisfy music fans and gamers' voracious appetite for rock with more than 18 million downloads since its launch on November 20, 2007. The Rock Band Music Store allows players to preview and purchase downloadable individual music tracks and packs from the vast selection of offerings available to date without ever leaving the game as they build their own custom Rock Band library.

Rock Band allows online play and features that expand the boundaries of music gaming. Rock Band downloadable content is playable and integrated into setlists in all game modes including: Solo Tour, Band World Tour, head-to-head competition either locally or online, and from any Quickplay mode. In order to play downloadable content for head-to-head matches or multiplayer online, all players must own the same downloadable track. Downloadable content for the Xbox 360 is available for purchase via Xbox LIVE Marketplace using Microsoft Points and is downloaded directly to the Xbox 360 hard drive. Downloadable content for the PLAYSTATION 3 version of Rock Band is available for purchase on the PLAYSTATION Store through the free PLAYSTATION Network and is downloaded directly to PLAYSTATION 3 system's built in hard drive.

On June 30, Harmonix, the world's premier music video game company in the world, and MTV Games, announced the release of Rock Band 2 this coming September and will support all previously downloaded content. The groundbreaking music platform that forever changed the face of music video games is committed to taking gaming to the next level with the evolution of the franchise. Rock Band 2 will make its debut on Xbox 360 and be available for additional platforms later this year.

Rock Band is rated "T" for Teen (lyrics, mild suggestive themes) by the ESRB.

For more information on Rock Band and Harmonix Music Systems please visit and

About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus