news\ Sep 27, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Rock Band Brings The Killers DLC to the Music Store

November 21, 2008

Rock Band Brings The Killers DLC to the Music Store

MTV Games and Harmonix add brand new music from The Killers, classics from Soundgarden and more to the Rock Band downloadable Music Store catalog

Harmonix and MTV Games announced today the addition of nine new tracks to the Rock Band Music Store catalog of downloadable content including brand new material from The Killers’ soon to be released album Day and Age. On the day of the album’s release Rock Band fans will be able to purchase the band’s new track “Spaceman” through the Rock Band Music Store as well as The Killers’ previously released tracks “Mr. Brightside” and “Smile Like You Mean It.” All three songs will be available for download as individual Rock Band tracks as well as in a 3-pack. Tracks will join “When You Were Young” already featured in the Rock Band Music Store catalog.

Alternative band Soundgarden also offers up more tracks for Rock Band fans including “Jesus Christ Pose” from the band’s 1991 album Badmotorfinger and “Pretty Noose” from the band’s fifth album Down on the Upside. Soundgarden’s hit singles “Black Hole Sun,” and “Spoonman” are already featured in the Rock Band Music Store catalog.

Next week’s DLC offering also includes a 3-pack from Swedish neo-metal guitarist Yngwie Malmsteen’s latest album featuring “Caprici Di Diablo,” “Damnation Game” and “Red Devil,” plus the single “Laid to Rest” from heavy metal band Lamb of God.

Each track will be available starting November 25, 2008, for the Xbox 360 and for PLAYSTATION 3. Each individual track will be available for $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points) or $5.49 (440 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) for The Killers and Yngwie Malmsteen 3-packs.

Release date: Tuesday, November 25, 2008 (Xbox LIVE Marketplace for Xbox 360) and (PlayStation Store)


  • The Killers “Mr. Brightside”

  • The Killers “Smile Like You Mean It”

  • The Killers “Spaceman”

  • Yngwie Malmsteen “Caprici Di Diablo”

  • Yngwie Malmsteen “Damnation Game”

  • Yngwie Malmsteen “Red Devil”

  • Soundgarden “Jesus Christ Pose”

  • Soundgarden “Pretty Noose”

  • Lamb of God “Laid to Rest”


  • $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) per track

  • $5.49 (440 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) for each 3-Pack

(All tracks are original master recordings)

Locations: Xbox LIVE Marketplace for Xbox 360 and PlayStation Network

** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change **

With the addition of these tracks there are now more than 450 tracks available to date via disc and download purchase (complete list of tracks at Rock Band continues to fly off shelves and satisfy music fans and gamers' voracious appetite for rock with more than 26 million downloads since its launch on November 20, 2007. The Rock BandMusic Store allows players to preview and purchase downloadable individual music tracks and packs from the vast selection of offerings available to date without ever leaving the game as they build their own custom Rock Band library.

Rock Band and Rock Band 2 allow online play and features that expand the boundaries of music gaming. Rock Band downloadable content is playable and integrated into setlists in all game modes. In order to play downloadable content for head-to-head matches or multiplayer online, all players must own the same downloadable track. Downloadable content for Xbox 360 is available for purchase via Xbox LIVE Marketplace for Xbox 360 using Microsoft Points and is downloaded directly to the hard drive of Xbox 360. Downloadable content for the PLAYSTATION 3 system's version of Rock Band is available for purchase on the PlayStation Store through the free PlayStation Network and is downloaded directly to PLAYSTATION 3 system's built in hard drive.

Rock Band 2 for Xbox 360 and PLAYSTATION 3 system is now available nationwide and supports all previously downloaded content. The groundbreaking music platform that forever changed the face of music video games is committed to taking gaming to the next level with the evolution of the franchise. Rock Band 2 will be available for additional platforms later this year.

Rock Band and Rock Band 2 are rated "T" for Teen (lyrics, suggestive themes) by the ESRB.

For more information on Rock Band 2 and Harmonix Music Systems please visit

About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus