news\ Jan 21, 2014 at 12:20 pm

One week until the 'Onslaught' begins in Call of Duty: Ghosts

Just a friendly reminder that in just seven days Call of Duty: Ghosts' first downloadable content pack, Onslaught, will be available on Xbox LIVE. Launching first on Xbox 360 and Xbox One, the new DLC will add four new multiplayer maps, the new "Maverick" dual-purpose Assault Rifle/Sniper Rifle, and the first installment of Extinction's four-part episodic narrative, Episode 1: Nightfall. 

In case you missed our first announcement, below are some quick descriptions for each of the new multiplayer maps:

  • Fog: Small to medium sized map set alongside the banks of a murky lake. Every area within "Fog" is a chilling homage to classic horror films, from an eerie campsite, flickering TVs, torture chamber, and seemingly abandoned structures as players try to unlock the map's dark secret. If a player happens to find and complete a specific Field Order, they become the embodiment of evil and don the persona of one of cinema's most iconic horror characters, Michael Myers. Additionally, the entire soundscape changes to the eerily familiar Halloween Theme music so other players know to run for their lives. 
  • BayView: A close-quarters map set on a costal Californian boardwalk packed with seaside gift stores and an aquarium, offering players fast-paced run-and-gun matches. Players must also be wary of the deadly artillery strike enemies can call-in from a Naval Destroyer anchored just offshore. 
  • Containment: A war-torn Mexican village where the battle rages along both banks of the dried out riverbed. Surrounded by a myriad of abandoned bars, cafes, a church and a pool hall, Containment also features elevated rooftop vantage points for players who prefer longer-range engagements. 
  • Ignition: An aging Florida space launch facility, inspired by Modern Warfare's "Scrapyard." On the map are two separate rocket test engines sites that opposing forces can trigger, sending massive fireballs into the already intense firefights, and the failed launch of a massive rocket has a dramatic effect on the combat. 

Additionally, Episode 1: Nightfall will introduce a new narrative for Ghosts' Extinction mode. It features two new characters and two alien species, as well as an exclusive weapon. "Set in a remote facility hidden deep within the Alaskan wilderness, the shadowy Nightfall Program has been researching the origins of the newly revealed alien threat," the description reads. "A small recon team of elite soldiers must infiltrate the site to retrieve intel and exterminate the hordes of savage creatures, and along the way uncover a three-story tall terror unlike anything they've faced before."

Onslaught will be available on January 28 for Xbxo 360 and Xbox One. Call of Duty: Ghosts Season Pass owners will be able to download the DLC for free. Activision has yet to announce a release date for the PlayStation or PC versions.

About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus