news\ Oct 1, 2013 at 2:14 pm

How to upgrade Assassin's Creed 4 from Xbox 360 to Xbox One or PS3 to PS4


With the launch of Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag coming during a transition period for consoles, Ubisoft has devised plans with platform makers and retailers to offer gamers the best value when upgrading from PS3 to PS4 or Xbox 360 to Xbox One. But there's a lot of different options. Thankfully, the publisher/developer has posted a clear and concise outline of how to upgrade from current to next-gen.

PlayStation 3 to PlayStation 4 Upgrade

Upgrading from PS3 to PS4 will cost just $9.99, regardless if you purchase the game digitally via the PlayStation Store or own the physical disc from a retailer. Both versions include you redeeming a code into the PlayStation Store. Inside the case of a physical copy is a code for the upgrade; once you redeem it just place the original PS3 disc into the system to activate the PS4 version. You can redeem upgrade codes until January 31, 2014.

Xbox 360 to Xbox One Upgrade

The Xbox version of the game has a few more options to upgrade, depending on the retailer. There are currently four different models you can choose from.

Amazon: Trade in the Xbox 360 version for an Xbox One version and you'll get $25 bonus credit on top of a minimum trade-in value of $25. So basically, you are paying $10. Valid until December 31, 2013.

GameStop: Guaranteed minimum credit of $50 for a limited time when upgrading from Xbox 360 to Xbox One. Available for limited time exclusively for PowerUp Rewards members.

Best Buy: Simply trade in the Xbox 360 copy and buy the Xbox One version for $9.99. Valid through December 31, 2013.

Microsoft Store: Again, trade in your Xbox 360 copy and buy the Xbox One version for $9.99. Also valid through December 31, 2013.

And there you have it. Multiple ways to upgrade Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag from current- to next-gen. As a reminder, here are the North American release dates for the game:

  • PlayStation 3 – October 29, 2013
  • Xbox 360 – October 29, 2013
  • Wii U – October 29, 2013
  • PlayStation 4 – November 15, 2013
  • PC – November 19, 2013
  • Xbox One – November 22, 2013
About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus