news\ Apr 25, 2012 at 10:26 am

Guild Wars 2 world selection and transfers explained

In preparation for the first Guild Wars 2 Beta Weekend Event, set to take place this weekend, developer ArenaNet has detailed how the home-world selection and world transfers to work.

When first logging into Guild Wars 2, the server you choose will function as your home world.  Once selected, all of the characters you create will play on this world and represent it in the world-versus-world (WvW) format.

The good news is that this isn't permanent.  You may change your home world, but there is a limited of one world transfer every seven days per account and a charge of 1,800 gems for each transfer.  When transferring worlds, all of your existing characters will be moved to the new world.  All future characters will also be created in the new world.

Guild Wars 2 will also have a "guesting" feature which gives you the option to play with your friends on another world.  This will allow your characters to play on any world with friends, though there are certain restrictions like not being able to participate in WvW.

For this weekend's Beta Weekend Event, guesting will not be enabled.  You will need to select your home-world, but ArenaNet will be providing all players with 2,000 gems for free so that you will be able to purchase a world transfer if you need one to play with friends.  Of course, you will only be able to do this once since the limit is one transfer every seven days.

"We strongly recommend that you plan ahead and choose your server before the event begins on April 27," ArenaNet urged players.  Below is the list of worlds that will be available during the Guild Wars 2 Beta Weekend Event:

US Worlds

  • Anvil Rock
  • Borlis Pass
  • Yak’s Bend
  • Henge of Denravi
  • Maguuma
  • Sorrow’s Furnace
  • Kaineng
  • Jade Quarry
  • Fort Aspenwood
  • Ehmry Bay
  • Ferguson’s Crossing
  • Darkhaven
  • Vasburg
  • Eredon Terrace
  • Crystal Desert
  • Tarnished Coast
  • Steamspur Mountains
  • Blazeridge Mountains
  • Isle of Janthir
  • Sea of Sorrows
  • Deldrimor
  • Scavenger’s Causeway
  • Moladune
  • Eternal Grove

EU Worlds

  • Kodonur
  • Gandara
  • Kodash
  • Blacktide
  • Istan
  • Vabbi
  • Kourna
  • Fissure of Woe
  • Underworld
  • Ring of Fire
  • Far Shiverpeaks
  • Petrified Forest
  • Jade Sea
  • Desolation
  • Magus Falls
  • Whiteside Ridge
  • Fort Ranik
  • Ruins of Surmia
  • Sharp’s Corner
  • Aurora Glade
  • Riverside
  • Elona Reach
  • Augury Rock
  • Abaddon’s Mouth
About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus