news\ Sep 27, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Gametap Launches American Mcgees Grimm

July 31, 2008


Premiere Episode “A Boy Learns What Fear Is” Free to Play Online

GameTap, the first-of-its-kind broadband entertainment network from Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., announced today the much-anticipated launch of American McGee’s Grimm. The newest GameTap Original title, American McGee’s Grimm, consists of 24 individual standalone game episodes, each of which is based on a classic fairy tale such as Little Red Riding Hood or Beauty and the Beast.

“We are excited to announce the launch of American McGee’s Grimm, our newest episodic title,” said Ricardo Sanchez, vice president of content and creative director for GameTap. “Working with American and the Spicy Horse team to bring this game to fans has been a great experience and we know this twisted adventure through classic fairy tales will appeal to a wide audience of game enthusiasts.”

The game’s main character, Grimm, is a crude dwarf who believes that the lessons offered in the original tellings of famous fairy tales have been lost over time, as the stories have been watered down with talking woodland creatures and Happily Ever After endings for all of the characters – whether they deserve it or not. As Grimm, players transform these toothless interpretations of the tales into dark and twisted versions of the story.

“The opportunity to work with GameTap to develop truly unique content in this new episodic format has been a dream come true,” said American McGee, creative director and founder of Spicy Horse Games. “Grimm is a fairy tale adventure that incorporates innovative, mainstream play mechanics with classic elements such as platforming, power-ups, easter-eggs, and more. Grimm offers something for the cranky dwarf in all of us.”

The new series debuts today on GameTap with the first episode “A Boy Learns What Fear Is,” which is free to play on the game service. The remaining episodes will be free to play for the first 24 hours exclusively on GameTap, and will also available for digital purchase in GameTap com’s online store for $3.99 an episode.

The first Volume of American McGee’s Grimm will consist of eight standalone episodes, which will be released weekly as follows:

  • July 31 A Boy Learns What Fear Is

  • August 7 Little Red Riding Hood

  • August 14 The Fisherman and His Wife

  • August 21 Puss In Boots

  • August 28 The Girl Without Hands

  • September 4 Godfather Death

  • September 11 The Devil and His Three Golden Hairs

  • September 18 Beauty and the Beast

To get more information about episodes please visit the official site: 

Click here to download  American McGee’s Grimm trailers

About The Author
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus