news\ Aug 12, 2013 at 4:45 pm

"Dark" characters for Skylanders Swap Force Dark Edition announced

skylanders swap force dark edition

Executive producer Scott Krager revealed on PlayStation Blog today that Skylanders Swap Force Dark Edition's characters. Dark Edition is a different version of the upcoming Vicarious Visions' game, which includes five alternate Dark characters. 

The story of the Dark Skylanders is a legendary one, which Scott shared:

While on a special mission, a team of Skylanders discovered a secret lair where Kaos was experimenting with a new discovery – Petrified Darkness – which he intended to use to take over all of Skylands! In the fight to stop Kaos, the lair exploded, releasing a cloud of pure Darkness. The Skylanders knew they could not let it escape, so they absorbed the dark energy, transforming them into dark versions of themselves. Fortunately, Spyro had learned to tame the darkness within him long ago. So with his help, these Skylanders now have also learned to control it – combining its power with their own to fight Kaos and the forces of evil.

The five Dark characters included in the Dark Edition are Dark Washbuckler, Dark Blast Zone, Dark Slobber Tooth, Dark Spyro, and Dark Stealth Elf. There's also a poster that includes every Skylander from all three games. 

Of course, the Dark Edition also comes with the game, a portal of power, five sticker sheets with secret codes and five trading cars. 

Skylander Swap Force releases October 13 on PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Wii, Wii U, 3DS and PC, and it will also be coming to Xbox One and PS4. The Skylanders Swap Force Dark Edition is only available through GameStop.

You can follow Senior Editor Lance Liebl on Twitter @Lance_GZ. He likes talking sports, video games, movies, and the stupidity of celebrities. Email at


[GameStop and PlayStation Blog]

About The Author
Lance Liebl Ray. If someone asks if you are a god, you say, "yes!"
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus