news\ Sep 30, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Batman: Arkham Origins' hardest mode is 'I Am the Night'

Batman: Arkham Origins

Batman: Arkham Origins producer Guillaume Voghel recently detailed the game's hardest mode, called I Am the Night, which unlocks only after players complete both the main campaign and New Game Plus.

"The main narrative arc and side missions last about 12 hours," Voghel told Eurogamer at Eurogamer Expo 2013. "And then you have all the collectibles. To get 100 percent of that will take much, much longer. We have a new difficulty level, New Game Plus is coming [back] — that's really difficult — and when you're done with that there's I Am The Night mode -—which is no saves and one life."

Creative director Eric Holmes has since clarified that a save feature does exist, but Voghel was right about the no-death part.

Voghel also revealed more about the Initiation downloadable-content pack, which we know is part of the game's season pass. For the first time, the series will take players outside Gotham — to Asia.

"You play as Bruce Wayne learning to be a ninja," he said. "That's a really cool one. Narratively, there's some added content that will give players a little more background story."

Wayne's teacher, Kirigi, taught Ra's al Ghul's League of Assassins.

"[But] it's not League of Assassins, it's ninja-related," said Voghel. "It's when he learned to be a ninja and learned those techniques. He goes to a monastery — custom content was created for the DLC. You'll be in Asia in the monastery. The team did a great job on that, it looks really good."

Batman: Arkham Origins launches for PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, PC, and Wii U on October 25.

About The Author
Stephanie Carmichael Twitter: @wita
In This Article
From Around The Web
blog comments powered by Disqus