Video game news, video game reviews, walkthroughs, video game mods, and game trailers

News

News

Developers can control spoilers by disabling the PS4 share button

Avatar

Posted by: Lance Liebl

Worried about people spoiling plot twists, boss fights and endings for you on the PlayStation 4 with its "share" button? Don't worry. Sony Computer Entertainment Worldwide Studios president Shuhei Yoshida revealed a safeguard against this in an interview with 4Gamer.net

Developers have the ability to disable the "share" button on the PlayStation 4 controller.

Translated by Edge Online, Yoshida said in an interview, "There will be parts of a game that the maker does not want people to be able to see. For example, on Vita, developers can in certain scenes disable the feature that lets users take a screenshot, and (the Share function) will have a similar mechanism. The creator may not want to make video of the final boss sharable, for instance."

The "share" functionality is a major feature of Sony's next-gen console. When a user presses the "share" button, they will be able to go through section of a game they've played and pick the parts they want to upload to social networks. 

I am quite thankful that Sony has though of how this might be detrimental to a game. Imagine if the PlayStation 3 had this with BioShock Infinite. The ending would've been ruined for so many people. 

You can follow Senior Editor Lance Liebl on Twitter @Lance_GZ. He likes talking sports, video games, movies, and the stupidity of celebrities. Email at LLiebl@GameZone.com

 

[4Gamer.net via Edge-Online]

Tags: Sony, PlayStation 4, PS4

Comments
Anonymous User
Comment-loader
Please fill out this captcha to confirm you are human and submit again.