Video game news, video game reviews, walkthroughs, video game mods, and game trailers

News

News

DICE Issues Warning To Those Who Play On Unofficial Battlefield 3 Beta Servers

Matt-liebl-profile

Posted by: Matt Liebl

 

Battlefield 3 open beta officially beganabout a week ago, giving thousands of gamers access to experience Rush mode on the Operaiton Metro map with support of up to 32 players.  Since then, unofficial servers have popped up with the Conquest version of Operation Metro supporting up to 64 players.  But players want more!  Now there are hacked servers supporting uip to 128 players on the frantic Operation Metro battlefield.  

Sounds fun and all, but you might want to think twice before playing on these unofficial servers.  Aside from the lag, you also run the risk of compromising your EA account and facing a ban-hammer.

Since the release of these unofficial Battlefield 3 servers, DICE has released a stern warning to those who participate in these hacked servers via the Battlelog:

 

"We are aware that a number of servers have appeared and are running game modes and player counts that have not currently been seen," he writes. "Please try to remain on official servers. Please avoid temptation and remain on these official servers while we work to have these servers dealt with. Playing on those servers can cause your account to become compromised, stats to be altered or other issues to arise which may lead to having your account banned by EA. If your account gets banned it does mean any EA game you have on your account would also be unavailable."

Leave it up to rogue PC players to attempt to cheat the system.  32 players just wasn't enough for them.  While 128 does indeed sound fun, I don't think it's worth running the risk of being banned and losing access to your EA games. 

Battlefield 3 beta runs until October 10, at which point fans will have to wait 15 days to play the retail release on PC, PlayStation 3, or Xbox 360. 

Comments
Anonymous User
Comment-loader
Please fill out this captcha to confirm you are human and submit again.